History

Stalinobad (nowadays Dushanbe), Tajikistan
source: gisaoiform.narod.ru

The first known record of Dushanbe dates back to the XVII century. In the sources it`s called as kasabai Dushanbe, which reflects its city status. But as shown by numerous recent finds of archaeologists, ethnographers and historians made in the territory of modern Dushanbe, the age of the city is much older. In the area of Putovskoy slope were found remains of settlements of the Greco-Bactrian Kingdom (the end of the III BC.), and the site of ancient settlement of Kushan period (VII-VIII) on the left bank of the river Dushanbinka. This is the evidence of that almost 2500 years ago, this area was inhabited, and there existed a high culture of craft and town planning.

Before the revolution of 1917, on the territory of the current capital of Tajikistan were three small villages Sari Assia, Shahmansur and Dushanbe. Dushanbe, which means Monday in Tajik, developed on the site of a Monday marketplace village, Dyushambe-Bozor,and its former name Dyushambe was a Russified version of the word meaning Monday in Tajik. It occupied a favorable location at the crossroads of caravan routes, which linked the Hissar valley with Bukhara and Samarkand, the Pamirs and Afghanistan. Later, it united with Sari Assia and Shohmansur kishlaks.

In 1920, the last Emir of Bukhara Side Alimhon, who escaped from Bukhara, made Dushanbe his residence. After 4 months under the pressure of the Bolsheviks, he was forced to leave Dushanbe and flee abroad. At the end of 1921 more than 10 thousand Bassmaches led by Enver Pasha, laid siege to Dushanbe. The Bolsheviks defended until the middle of February 1922. But because of lack of food and ammunition, they had to retreat. Nevertheless, on July 14, 1922 Dushanbe again passed into the hands of the Bolsheviks. Untill 1929, the city is officially called Dyushambe in Russian, in 1929 Dushanbe was renamed Stalinabad, after Stalin and carried this name for 30 years. During this period, in Dushanbe started a rapid growth, there appeared the first paved street, mill, soap, oil and cotton- cleaning factories, metal-mechanical and joiner`s workshops. In the same year in the Tajik capital, were opened a movie studio and the first documentary, created at this studio, captured coming into the city, the first train from Termez on the railroad built in 1929. This gave impetus to the development of the textile, electrical and food industries, as well as engineering. In 1938 was developed the first general plan of the city with a population of 170 thousand people.

For 76 years the village, lost among the mountains, turned into a modern industrial city. From 1929 to 1990 it was the capital of Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic, and from 1991 - the center of political, economic and cultural life of the sovereign state, the Republic of Tajikistan.

История

Душанбе, Таджикистан
источник:gisaoiform.narod.ru

Первое известное упоминание о Душанбе относится к XVII веку. В источниках он называется, как касабаи Душанбе, что говорит о его городском статусе. Но как показывают многочисленные находки археологов, этнографов, историков, сделанные в последнее время на территории современного Душанбе, возраст города намного старше. В районе Путовского спуска были найдены остатки поселений Греко-Бактрийского царства (конец III в. до н. э.), а городище кушанского периода (VII-VIII вв.) — на левобережье реки Душанбинка. Это свидетельствуют о том, что уже почти 2500 лет назад эта местность была заселена людьми и здесь существовала высокая культура ремесла и градостроительства.  

До революции 1917 г. на месте нынешней столицы Таджикистана было три небольших кишлака: Сары Ассия, Шахмансур и Душанбе. На перекрёстке дорог возник Кишлак, где по понедельникам организовывался крупный базар, откуда и произошло название «душанбе», в переводе с таджикского языка — понедельник. Он занимал выгодное положение на перекрёстке караванных путей, которые связывали Гиссарскую долину с Бухарой и Самаркандом, Памиром и Афганистаном. Позднее он объединился с кишлаками Сары-Осиё и Шохмансур. 

В 1920 году последний бухарский эмир Сайд Алимхон, бежавший из Бухары, сделал Душанбе своей резиденцией. Через 4 месяца под натиском большевиков он вынужден был покинуть Душанбе и бежать за границу. В конце 1921 г. свыше 10 тыс. басмачей под руководством Энвер-паши осадили Душанбе. Большевики держали оборону до середины февраля 1922 г. Из-за отсутствия продовольствия и боеприпасов им пришлось отступить. Тем не менее 14 июля 1922 г. Душанбе вновь перешел в руки большевиков, и в городе была установлена советская власть. До 1929 года город официально назывался по-русски Дюшамбе, в 1929 году Душанбе был переименован в Сталинабад, в честь И. В. Сталина и носил это название в течение 30 лет. В этот период начался быстрый рост, в Душанбе появилась первая мощёная улица, мельница, мыловаренный, маслобойный и хлопкоочистительный заводы, слесарно-механические и столярные мастерские. В том же году в столице Таджикистана была открыта киностудия, а первая документальная лента, созданная на ней, запечатлела приход в город, по построенной в 1929 году железной дороге, первого поезда из Термеза. Это дало толчок к развитию в городе текстильной, электро- и пищевой промышленности, а также машиностроения. В 1938 году был разработан первый генеральный план развития города с населением 170 тысяч человек.

За 76 лет кишлак, затерявшийся среди гор, превратился в современный промышленный город. С 1929 по 1990 г. Душанбе был столицей Таджикской Советской Социалистической Республики, а с 1991 г. — центром политической, экономической и культурной жизни суверенного государства — Республики Таджикистан.